How to…stitch mini bunting necklaces

23 Aug

20120828-194703.jpg

Bunting is a big part of our wedding decorations and with so many children in our wedding party I decided to stitch up some mini bunting necklaces from the scraps for all the little girls!

Here’s How To…

20120828-194848.jpg

Raid your fabric stash for lots of pretty scraps. Cut a small triangle from stuff card to make the template for the pennant. Using a rotary cutter and mat, carefully cut two triangles from each piece of fabric.

20120828-195013.jpg

Place the fabric triangles in pairs, with the right side facing. Join each pennant together with a straight machine stitch and using a scant 1/4in seam allowance. Sew done one long side, pivot at the point, and sew up the other side, leaving the top open.
Let the machine run a couple of stitches between each pennant, then stitch the next, clipping the joining threads after.

20120828-200521.jpg

Turn the pennants through to the right side and press flat.

20120828-200604.jpg

Cut strips of pretty bias binding to the desired length or the necklace and press in half. Gently ease the strip into a circle so that the open section runs around the outer section of the necklace. Work a buttonhole at one end of the folded strip.

20120828-200809.jpg

Place the pennants inside the fold of the bias binding. Space evenly along the length and pin in place.

20120828-200856.jpg

With a straight machine stitch work along the length of the necklace, to secure the pennants into place. Hand sew a small button to correspond with the buttonhole to finish!

20120828-201022.jpg

Ta Dah! Mini bunting necklaces!

2 Responses to “How to…stitch mini bunting necklaces”

  1. Alexandra March 13, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

    Hello I live in Qatar, and such is the environment here ( lots of Arty, Crafty groups ) I have decided to invest in a sewing machine……now , I have never used one, but I am very creative, and as we have such a fabulous material Souk here I really feel it’s time I got down to making beautiful things for our home……….but where to start? I have been on to the Which website and they only reported on 5, I have genned up on what I need as a basic beginner, should I get a Singer, a Brother, an ELNA , can you help me…..I think I will need an easy automatic needle threader, a 2 speed foot pedal, in case I get cared away! I love your Haynes annual by the way! And I am really looking forward to hearing about your gorgeous wee pup…..we rescued 2 puppies from Ireland ( a Border Collie and a Lurcher) and brought them all the way here………You realise , dont you that You will never be the same again!! My hubby and I are totally besotted with our two ! Look forward to your advice LovevAlex x

    • reallyandtrulylaura March 13, 2013 at 1:56 pm #

      Hi Alex,
      Thanks for getting in touch – it’s great to hear from creative folks around the world!
      Buying a sewing machine is very exciting, it doesn’t matter if you haven’t used one before, most of the basic models are ideal for learning on, so I’m certain that you’ll have no problems. Personally, I use a Juki sewing machine, I find that these are easy-to-use and also offer really great functions and features. The brand of machine you pick is really down to personal preference – is it possible for you to visit a sewing machine store and try out a range of different brands of sewing machine? Or do you have any friends or members of the crafty groups that have different machines that you can try?
      I’m very excited about bringing the new pup home, we have a few more weeks until he is old enough to leave his mum…can’t wait!
      Laura xoxox

Leave a comment